Direktlänk till inlägg 1 september 2014

Book Review: Astor Place Vintage, Stephanie Lehmann

Av Sandra - 1 september 2014 12:57

 

To be honest, this book was bought on pure impulse and because I quite liked the description of it. I'm telling you, I had no idea what a treat I was in for. 

Astor Place Vintage is about two different women who are connected through a diary. The reader Amanda in 2007 and the writer Olive in 1908. A century is between these two women, yet they are so alike in so many ways. What Amanda doesn't realize, though, when she starts reading Olive's diary is that her life is about to be turned upside down. 

One of the great things about this book is the detailed descriptions of past and present NY city. There are even photographs from early 20th century New York to illustrate the author's words. The insight to a modern woman's life of the 21st century vs 20th century which Lehmann gives us is truly inspiring. It highlights not only the similarities but also the differences. I wouldn't go as far as announcing this book as chic lit but I do say that it is definitely a book aimed for women. Especially those who might feel a bit lost and suffocated by the norms of society, or if you simply have an interest in the past. It took me two days to finish this book so I can safely say that I recommend it with all my heart.

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av Sandra - 30 oktober 2014 09:34

    I've always been fascinated by Russia, I suspect it started after I first found out about the tragic fate of Anastasia Romanov and her family. Russian Winter is set in a much changed Russia, though, namely the Soviet Union, in a time when an...

Av Sandra - 30 oktober 2014 09:14

  It is difficult to describe the plot of The Quick without giving anything important away so I'm going to do this: SPOILER!!!     The Quick takes place in late 19th century London. It focuses on two Yorkshire siblings, James and Charlotte...

Av Sandra - 30 oktober 2014 08:49

  The Aftermath can be perceived as yet another World War II story, however this one comes with a twist. It starts out in 1946 in the city of Hamburg and it deals with (surprise surprise!) the aftermath of the war. Colonel Lewis Morgan is one of t...

Av Sandra - 30 oktober 2014 08:30


    I had no idea what I was getting myself into when I picked up the latest novel of David Mitchell, author of Cloud Atlas. I'd heard about Cloud Atlas when it came out as a film a couple of years ago but I never got around to see it so the sty...

Av Sandra - 30 oktober 2014 08:17


  The Shopaholic novels are one of my guilty pleasures, which is why I was so excited when I saw there was a new installment out. Shopaholic to the stars sets Rebecca Brandon (née Bloomwood) in Hollywood with her family as Becky's husband has a ...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards